Pacing Yourself

 

2093 (3)

Preparing to Summit Mt. Garfield, Photo by Lisa Cook

Last Sunday I joined the New Hampshire Chapter of the Appalachian Mountain Club for a hike up Mt. Garfield. (4,500 ft) in the Whites. After weeks of holiday preparation and family gatherings, I was ready for a New Year’s climb! Leaders Barbara Audin and Norm Michaels originally scheduled an ascent up Lincoln (5,089 ft) and Lafayette (5,260 ft), but predictions of 55 mph or higher winds and severe cold above tree line required a last minute change of plans.

Our group of eight departed on our 12.5-trek at 7:50 a.m. in 28 degrees F after putting on microspike traction devices.  I was chilly in the parking lot, but wore only one thin layer of fleece over my hiking shirt, knowing I’d quickly work up heat on the way to the Garfield Trailhead. On past winter hikes in similar temps, I’ve set out wearing my waterproof shell and thicker fleece only to get the stink eye from hiker friends when I had to stop to delayer after the first bend in the trail.

Winter hiking is about planning ahead, keeping everything organized in your pack so you can find what you need in a flash, and avoiding delays since no one wants to get cold waiting while Joey digs for her bag of gorp that slipped into the bottom of her pack. Keeping my pack organized has never been my strong suit, but I’m improving. This time I put my snacks and lunch items in the hood of my pack (leaving out a couple items to tuck into my my pockets), rolled my jacket and rain pants before inserting them vertically next to my crampons, and stuffed my warm mitts and balaclava on top for quick access before the final climb to the summit. I even practiced putting on my crampons to avoid fumbling while my hands get cold.

On our ascent in a few inches of new powder snow covering the thick ice, we stopped on the hour for short water breaks and snacks, keeping a moderate, steady pace.

“I’m not a fast hiker, which is why I like glacier climbing,” says Barbara Crane, as I nip at her heels, wishing she’d pick up the pace in the last steep stretch before the junction with the Garfield Ridge Trail. But she tells me she’s summited Mt. Rainier so I bite my tongue and get really interested in knowing about that trip. Before long I’m moving at her steady pace grateful I’m keeping my reserve of stamina and not drenching my shirt with sweat from overexertion. The temperature is dropping into the teens and I know a wet shirt in sub-freezing temps can lead to hypothermia. Not a good idea.

Within the hour, we summit Mt. Garfield where the stunted fir trees look like they are covered with thick white cake frosting. Those of us wearing crampons sidestep about 60 ft on an icy ledge toward the foundation of an old fire tower at the summit.  With hand assists, we help each other up over the last ice-glazed granite rock between gusts of wind before celebrating our success.

AMC book time for summiting Mt. Garfield is 3 hr 45 min, but we have arrived in 3 hr 5 min. Pacing ourselves has made a difference.

About jknap

Johanna writes/edits about architecture, engineering and construction (AEC) for Engineering News-Record (ENR), the Boston Globe and other publications. When she isn't writing, she often spends time in the outdoors mountain climbing, cycling, skiing or singing and playing guitar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment